MustangWorks.com - The Ford Mustang Power Source!

Go Back   MustangWorks.com : Ford Forums > Mustang & Ford Tech > Small Ponies
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

Old 04-09-2000, 10:06 PM   #1
speed demon
Registered Member

Post help rough idle, missing

I have a 1988 mustang with a AOD tranny (A4LD). Recently it has been missing, had a really rough idle, had absolutly no power (won't go faster that 20, but changes gear)and has hard starting, especially when warm. I check the timing, the spark plug wires, the coil, for vacuum leaks and replaced the spark plugs. When i replaced the plugs (with platimun), the idle got smoother, and you didn't notice the missing as much. Also when i try to see if there any codes in the computer I don't get anything at all, not even code 11. Any suggestions would be appreciated.
speed demon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2000, 09:43 PM   #2
J.M
Registered Member

Cool

I'm not a pro, but it sounds like you could have a fuel distribution problem. Try checking your fuel line. You could have crud buildup.

***2000 3.8L***no mods at this time.
J.M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2002, 11:52 AM   #3
StellarSaleen
Registered Member

Default You ever figure out the problem?

Did you ever figure out the problem? I have a 1993 4 cyl. with the exact same symptoms. Put the accelerator on the floor and its like pushing a ton of bricks. Seems kinda smooth when in park but you put the engine under a load and it starts to shake like crazy. I changed the plug wires, plugs, coil packs (distributorless in 93), and found the timing to be set at 12 degrees. Im baffled! I took the cylinder head off and it looks like the number one cylinder hasnt been hitting. Im replacing the head but I still dont think this is going to be the end of my problems.
StellarSaleen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2002, 09:48 PM   #4
PNYXPS66
Registered Member

Unhappy Timing anyone?