MustangWorks.com - The Ford Mustang Power Source!

Go Back   MustangWorks.com : Ford Forums > Mustang & Ford Tech > Windsor Power
Register FAQ Members List Calendar

Notices

Old 02-02-2002, 07:45 PM   #1
mikeb89GT
Registered Member

Default New Mustang owner

Hey everyone. Been reading the board for a while now, and I have finally got my 89 GT. I have been wanting a mustang for a very long time. Now here is my first question. The guy that sold it to me said he was getting mid 13's on the track. From what I have been reading this seems unlikely to me. Seems like alot of people on this board with alot more mods than I have.
302 @ 306ci
full exhaust
shorty heads
pro 5 shifter
3.73 gears
K & N filters
mass air (could someone explain this to me)
and I think he said polished heads. As u may be able to tell I am just getting into this kinda of stuff (currently a computer geek ) Anyways what do u think about this setup. I may be missing things. Do u think that 13's are possible with this car?

Alos is there a way to tell if the stock cams are in it or aftermarket ones were added, he didnt know because he acquired the car from a relative.

Also what do u think I should do next, I would love to run it this spring.

Mike
mikeb89GT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2002, 10:24 PM   #2
stanger8172
Registered Member

Computer geek? Oh we have some advice for you alright (just kidding)The only way I know of to affirm a cam swap is the way it idles and drives. If you are at idle and the car feels like it idles rough but the tachometer isn't jumping around then you might have a different cam. I would think the car would shake more at idle with a different cam.

I think the setup sounds capable of 13's. I don't know about the MID 13's though. If the alleged track time is so important you should have actually seen it do this. If it doesn't run a mid 13 take the car back to him