MustangWorks.com - The Ford Mustang Power Source!

Go Back   MustangWorks.com : Ford Forums > Mustang & Ford Tech > Windsor Power
Register FAQ Members List Calendar

Notices

Old 08-15-2004, 06:57 PM   #1
Fat0eknee
I'm slow ...I know.

Default cheap 393 build - worth it?

k fellas im just a poor college student but i can pull this together with what i have

393 crank, 351w rods and 302 pistons
gt40p heads
trickflow street intake
E cam

my question is would this be worth building?

i dont really want to spend all this cash and not see that much of an improvement over my 5.0 or if you guys had any other suggestions that would be nice too - thanks
Fat0eknee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2004, 07:17 PM   #2
88fivepointoh
Registered Member

Ok, you all mixed match parts that won't work together, what engine block to you have? We need more specs.
88fivepointoh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2004, 07:33 PM   #3
Fat0eknee
I'm slow ...I know.

i have a spare 351w block and i wanna build a 393 stroker

i was thinkin of using gt40p heads and a trickflow street intake
i can just use the tranny i have now which is a B&M AOD
out back i have a 9 inch detroit locker with 3.70:1 gears
Old 08-15-2004, 07:35 PM   #4
Fat0eknee
I'm slow ...I know.

haha sorry sometimes my mind wanders and i dont complete my thoughts ..i have problems
Old 08-18-2004, 07:07 AM   #5
jonnyk
Being stroked is great

You're not going to gain much other than a really low powerband and lots of torque. That induction combo is a ton too small for a 393.

Problems you'll run into: new oilpan, hood clearance (cowl needed), new headers, you need a 351W lower intake, and you'll have to convert the block to hydraulic roller with a different cam, or go to a link-bar style hydraulic roller lifter.

Mods Pics
jonnyk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2004, 12:50 PM   #6
Fat0eknee
I'm slow ...I know.

ok thanks bro ill just stick to modding what i have
Old 08-18-2004, 01:19 PM   #7
Coupe Devil