MustangWorks.com - The Ford Mustang Power Source!

Go Back   MustangWorks.com : Ford Forums > Mustang & Ford Tech > Windsor Power
Register FAQ Members List Calendar

Notices

Old 10-02-2001, 01:31 PM   #1
LfiveohX
Addicted to the 5.0

Post Noisy Fuel Injectors?

I have been hearing this ticking noise from under my hood for a few months and it has been getting a little louder every week. I finally checked the header gaskets thinking they might be leaking. Replaced the gaskets and fired it up. Still heard the sound. Upon closer inspection, I can definitely hear the noise coming from the fuel injectors. They are ticking kinda loud. They are FMS 24lb. Does anyone elses make a loud ticking noise, especially when the engine is idling? The noise goes away above approx 2200 rpm's. My initial thought is this: I still have the original fuel pump and am wondering if it overworked the injectors? They have been installed for approx 23,000 miles and maybe that is all I can expect? Any help would be appreciated! Thanks,
Adam

------------------
1993 Conv. LX 5.0, Air in the tires, Fuel in the tank, Put the top down, Floor it till it breaks!
LfiveohX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2001, 04:29 PM   #2
todd95GT
Registered Member

Might be valvetrain noise. I recently developed a tick also. It sounds like it's coming from the injectors but it is most likely eminating from uder the valve covers. You can use a long screwdriver, metal tip to the rocker cover, other end to your ear, and go up and down the covers to pinpoint the noise. Or as PKRWUD recommends, use a length of heater hose or fuel line. Good luck. My engine guy recommended on my next oil change, to drop some Marvel's Mystery Oil in the motor. He thinks if it's a stuck lifter, that will help free it up. If not, it'll wait til the heads or intake come off.
Let us know!

------------------
Todd
1995 GT/T-5